It all depends on your point of view

For now we see through a glass darkly; but then face to face:   Now I know in part, but then shall I know even as I also am known. (1 Cor 13:12 KJV)

 

I was sitting in my chair reading when I happened to glance at my netbook screen.    My computer is set to scroll through my pictures when it is bored.   I saw a picture that I didn’t recognise.   It appeared to be black and white.   What looked like a black rubbish bag tied at the neck seemed to dominate the picture.   From the size of the windows, it appeared to reach more than half way to the ceiling.   I recognised the window frames as being our home.

point of view 1

Intrigued, I got up to look at it more closely and I couldn’t believe what I saw.   It was actually a photo taken of our Easter table – All white and gold.

Point of view 2

I understood better what “point of view means”.   It means what I see from where I am standing.

Bad things happen to all of us.   Sometimes what seemed like the end of the world at the time, turned out to be God’s way of making something beautiful in our lives.  A few years ago we bought a property with our daughter and son-in-law. There was a one bed roomed cottage that my daughter would use as her art studio. The plan was to build a cottage for my husband and me in the front garden. We got plans, we had our team who would do it for us, we were all set. When we were refused permission to build, we were devastated.

We made a plan.   We added rooms to the existing cottage and built on a bigger art studio.   What we have now is better than the original plan.   In hindsight we can see what a blessing it was and how God used the situation.

For Discussion or Reflection

  1. Can you look back on any circumstances that seemed terrible at the time but now appear to have been God’s work?
  2. What circumstances in your life look like a bag of rubbish from your point of view? How do you think God sees them? How will they look in retrospect, for example in five year’s time?

Father God, please help me to trust you when the world looks dark. I know that you can see the whole picture. Amen.

How do you like your Coffee?

