I am a red blood cell in the Bride of Christ

1 Cor 12:27 says,”Now you are the body of Christ and each one of you is a part of it,” Elsewhere the bible says that the Church is the Bride of Christ. (2Cor 11:2, Eph 5:24, Rev 19:7-9 and 21:1-2)

On thinking about this and the whole diversity of the body of Christ, I have decided I am a red blood cell. I am not an external part, like the skin or hair which are obvious to the world and portray the beauty of the body,

blood-75301__180

I am not an eye  with the gift of prophesy, nor an ear, like those who hear clearly the word of God. I am not a mouth like evangelists and preachers and Christian authors nor even a nerve cell like those who pass on the message.

I am like so many of my brother and sister red blood cells, a carrier of oxygen. That is my function and my calling. I need to carry encouragement to those who need it, one little parcel at a time and be prepared to give it up to them and then go back to the source for more. If I can do just that, I will fulfill my purpose. I might never be noticed, never be appreciated, never become famous or even well known in my church; but I will have done my small bit to keep the body alive.

Prayer: Lord please help me to be faithful in what you have called me to do, not to compare myself to other parts of the body nor  to look down on those who are different to me in looks, culture or calling.

For Discussion: What part of the body or kind of cell do you see yourself as? Please give feedback.

 

2 thoughts on “I am a red blood cell in the Bride of Christ

  1. robsvet

    Thanks for this reminder Jenny! It’s good to remember that every one of us serves a purpose in the body of Christ. I like to believe that whilst each one of us has a unique set of giftings that make us more equipped for certain roles; we all in some way and at some point are like stem cells – pleomorphic cells that can grow to serve different functions in the body. At times you are a preacher, an encourager; a mouth that feeds; an ear that listens, feet that walk out into the world, hands that serve. Maybe our Christian walk involves maturing into who God calls us to be and where we will have the most impact- as you say with your red blood cell. Great read. Thank you!!!

    Like

    Reply

How do you like your Coffee?

