Reflections

In response to this week’s Flash Fiction challenge by Priceless Joy.

The challenge is to write a flash fiction story of 100 – 150 words. I am trying to limit myself to 100.

This is the prompt photo by Priceless Joy

I see her everywhere. If I look up into the sky, the clouds arrange themselves into pictures of little girls – little girls playing, little girls sleeping. Sometimes just a face. Her face.

In the bath I lie and stare at the tiles, mottled and marbled. More pictures emerge. Babies turn into toddlers. Very rarely I can make out an older girl – a teenager who will never be.

Reflections in the rain-spattered surface are in technicolour. Surely that’s Amy! I turn around, tears mingling on my face with rain. She died a year ago, the day before her fifth birthday.

5 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. Priceless Joy

    This is absolutely beautiful yet hauntingly sad. Beautiful story of seeing the little one in almost everything you look at. A very different approach to grief. Welcome to Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers! I hope to get to read more of your stories.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Joy Pixley

    A vivid portrayal of that awful (and common, I think) experience of imagining for a moment that you see a lost loved one, and the realization all over again that they’re gone. Very touching.

    Like

    Reply

How do you like your Coffee?

