Unexpected

This is part of Stream of Consciousness Saturday. The plan is to just write what comes – no editing although typos may be corrected.

SoCS badge 2015

I am normally a very competitive person. I don’t enter a competition if I don’t think I have a chance of winning. An exception has been the South African Writer’s Circle monthly competitions. I joined the SAWC as one of the avenues to explore when I felt God was calling me to write and I didn’t know what exactly to write (I still don’t know so I am doing blogging and writing for the SAWC monthly competitions) The first one I attempted for the end of August was to write a travel article. The best thing is, once you have entered, the judges give you a very detailed report on what you did well and what you could improve on. I was told I used too many cliches (especially “stunning”) and that my ending needed more oomph. Fair comment.

For September the  task was to write a short story in 3000 words where someone has a 180 degree turn around. This one I spent more time on – In fact I rewrote it after I had asked my son to read it and comment. He nearly killed himself laughing at the extremes I was going to to avoid cliches! Anyway, I rewrote it in the first person changing from the present to the past for flashbacks (of which there were several). About two weeks ago I got a newsletter with interesting articles in it, one of them being on writing short stories and how one should avoid flashbacks. Sigh. Too late. The day before yesterday i got the email enclosing my report from the judge. ‘Congratulations,” it said, “You have won first place in our short story competition” That was totally unexpected but very exciting.  I still can’t take it in. I don’t know how many people entered this month – maybe there were only three and they placed us first, second and third. I don’t care. it is encouragement and we writers need all the encouragement we can get.

5 thoughts on “Unexpected

  1. Vibrant

    Congratulations 🙂
    Your son also had a nice time lol 😀
    Don’t avoid cliches too much if you love em. Let writing be fun.

    I love the content of your consciousness. Beautiful soul–thinks much about writing though 🙂

    Have a lovely weekend.
    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

How do you like your Coffee?

