Poetry Assignment #5

I am going to try to do today’s assignment a little earlier in the day. The task is to write an ode to a map including how it interacts with us. We also need to include a metaphor. Mine is in two parts, the ode is in rhyme and the metaphor is in free verse. I have chose my GPS navigator to write about (actually it is an app on my phone).

Ode to my Navigator

In busy traffic, I’m glad your’re near,

You help me get from here to there.

You warn me when I go too fast

And save me from the cop’s shrill blast.

You guide me to a garge stop

Or hospital or coffee shop.

You never yell when I go wrong,

“Recalculating” is your song.

I exit at my destination

And start the holiday celebration.

DSCN3017The Lord is my Navigator, I trust in Him.

He helps me find the right path in life, he tells me when to turn and when to make a U turn.

His Word warns me and guides me and keeps me from wrong.

He leads me to places of rest and reflection.

He provides all my needs.

Even when I go wrong and go my own way, He doesn’t give up on me,

He shows me how to get back on the right road with gentle, loving patience.

And when at last my journey’s done, He’ll be waiting for me to lead me home.

One thought on “Poetry Assignment #5

How do you like your Coffee?

