The Trap

This is a story for flash fiction for aspiring writers. The challenge is to write a flash fiction story between 100 and 150 words based on a prompt. This weeks prompt is by Emmy L Gant

 

PHOTO PROMPT - © Emmy L Gant

The Trap (105 words)

They were waiting for me when my spaceship landed. Despite all their communications of friendship and scientific co-operation, they had known all along.

They had lied when they had painted earth as a friendly, semi deserted planet that would welcome settlement by Vortigoes. All they had been interested in was studying a new life form.

So here I am trapped in the translucent polymer inner chamber. I can see the metal bars of the outer cell.

I have communicated. I know it won’t be long before my people free me and take the ultimate vengeance. I can see the pre-annihilation clouds aggregating in the west.

I am trying to write a novel in between getting distracted by flash fiction. You can check out the first two chapters at Chapter Buzz.  Meanwhile I am inspired by all the great flash fiction stories I have been reading.

 

3 thoughts on “The Trap

  1. athling2001

    Hum… wanted to know who ‘they’ were. I thought at first maybe the same alien race as the speaker, but now I am not sure. The choice of ‘aggregating’ in the last sentence was a bit of a challenge. It took me out of the suspended disbelief in order to focus on the word and understand its meaning. Otherwise, good story.

    Like

    Reply

How do you like your Coffee?

