The Embassy

In our fellowship group we are doing the Reframe course, run by Regent College.

Embassy

On Monday we discussed how being a Christian was like being an ambassador in a foreign country.  One of the things that struck me was that, if you are an ambassador, one of the requirements of the job is to learn the language and customs of the country to which you are sent. It is no use speaking “Christianese” to the world. Among ourselves at the Embassy, however, that is perfectly all right.

I have been pondering on this image and trying to relate it to my life.

the Embassy (the Church) is our mother-ship. It is where we find resources for our work, where we are encouraged, sometimes disciplined if we are acting contrary to our own country’s policies. Of course we also have to obey the laws of the country we are in while maintaining the customs of our home country.

My home country is actually more like a kingdom and if I want to do my job properly it would be a good idea to have a hotline to the king. Then every morning I could report for duty and get any special instructions for the day.

I got to thinking about what the main function of an embassy is. I have no first hand experience but I would imagine one of the prime functions is to support citizens from my home kingdom. They, too, are in a foreign country and, let’s face it, stuff happens.  My role as ambassador would be to help wherever I can.

Another function of the Embassy is to represent our kingdom and our king. As ambassadors, we have a certain amount of authority given to us. We can arrange passports for foreigners and other legal documents. We can pray in the name of our king and our petitions are heard. We can lead others to become citizens of our home kingdom.

Looking at life from this point of view, I am not doing very well. I have become so acclimatized to the foreign country that I don’t stand out at all. I go about my life very much making my own decisions as impulse takes me. It is time for a new mindset.  Please pray for me.

 

One thought on “The Embassy

  1. Pingback: Letters from the Embassy | Coffee in the Rain

How do you like your Coffee?

