Letters from the Embassy

I have decided to discontinue Coffee with Wings  and replace it with Letters from the Embassy. I want to continue the metaphor that I explored in The Embassy on Thursday. I thought that the main function of an embassy is to help people from the home kingdom when they need help. However, today I was forced to broaden my horizons when I got today’s communique from the king. It is from the big Book of Policies that dictates the policies of the kingdom which ambassadors have to follow.

It is from Matthew 10:25 and is the well known parable of the Good Samaritan. The Samaritan was of a different ethnicity and culture to the man who was attacked by robbers. Nevertheless he:-

  • Stopped.  So often in my busy life I have made my plans and budgeted time for various things. I tend to feel resentful when other people hijack my time. That is not the attitude of an ambassador.
  • Engaged with the wounded man. He bent down, bandaged him and did what first aid he could.
  • Used his own transport to take the man to a place where he could recover.
  • Used his own money to pay for the accommodation and treatment of the injured man.

Then the king says “Go and do likewise.” This is very challenging and I am not sure that I can. If I can just be mindful of my brief that is a start. I probably need a lot more guidance and experience before I can do even a fraction of it.

How do you like your Coffee?

