The Parable of the Rose Bush

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11New International Version (NIV)

I have been hanging on to this promise for  three years now with varying degrees of tenacity. We have been praying for this future that God promised. Every now and then there would be a flare of hope and it looked like an answer was coming but as time went by and there was no follow up, they all faded and died.

A week ago I looked at my rose bush and had a new insight. Two year ago this plant suddenly realized that it was actually a climbing rose and started climbing all over the wall. I had attached plastic fencing to the wall for the sweet-peas to climb up and this rose grew all over it. I looked forward to a wall full of roses but last year all I got was leaves and new shoots and more leaves. During the winter I threatened the rose bush. If you don’t produce any roses when summer comes, I am going to dig you up. I didn’t want a creeper, I bought a rose plant.

It took me seriously. It is now Spring and bunches of tiny buds have appeared all over the sprawling plant. I know I am going to have my wall full of roses. They are not here yet, they are still promises but I know without a doubt that they are coming.

God’s promises are like that. They are definitely coming but they are not here yet.  Every day when I look to see if any new flowers have appeared, I remember that  God is faithful and His promises secure. It is just not the right time yet.dscn4471

One day I will see a wall full of roses.

dscn4469

How do you like your Coffee?

