Book Worm

SoCS badge 2015

This post is part of Streams of Consciousness Saturday. This week it must highlight the word  “book”. Even though it is late on Sunday night, I can’t resist posting for this because, you see, I am writing a book. That is to say, I have started a book. I have finished two chapters this year. This is where the worm comes in. Worms progress slowly. Earthworms progress in curves and spirals and that is how I feel my progress is going.

I was encouraged to start a novel when my short story, “They call me Nothing“, won first place in the SA Writers Circle monthly competition. This is no great honour because only about 20 people participate. Nevertheless the judge commented that some of the stories would make good novels so I thought I’d give it a try.

It has not been easy fitting writing into my schedule but if I can consider a chapter as only a short story which I have been trying to do once a month, it is attainable if I just keep going. So you won’t see my book on the bookshelves soon, if ever. Chapter Three is almost finished and school holidays are coming up so I hope I’ll have time to finish chapter three and maybe chapter four by the middle of July.

How do you like your Coffee?