At the Beach

I love the beach. My favourite holiday is to spend time on the Natal South Coast as close to the sea as possible. Beaches in the Western Cape or Port Elizabeth will also do but they are much further away so not as accessible. We are planning to go down to Scottburgh this winter, God willing, in our motorhome.

Beach near Hibberdene 2020

When I am in a contemplative mood, I sometimes spend my prayer time imagining myself sitting on a bench on a cliff overlooking the sea. As I sit there, I try to imagine feeling the breeze on my face, hearing the sounds of the waves breaking and the seagulls mewing, seeing the changing colours and shapes of the sea. I praise God for His beauty and majesty. Then I picture Jesus coming to sit next to me. The birds are silent in awe and even the breeze holds its breath in wonder. For a while He doesn’t say anything. I ask Him to speak to me and I tell Him where I am and what concerns or excites me at the moment. Then I just sit still and wait for Him to speak.

Almost always I’ve come away with a verse or a revelation and I feel renewed and at peace. In fact, I can’t think why I do it so seldom. Time maybe?

John says, “This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us.” (1 John 5:14)

My Prayer

Lord Jesus, Creator of the sea and the land, the earth and sky, please quieten me so I can hear what you want to say to me. Amen.

This post is part of JusJoJan

How do you like your Coffee?