The Rock

…lead me to the rock that is higher than I. (Psalm 61:2b)

I’m feeling generally down today. My bridge came loose approximately three weeks after the dentist last secured it in my mouth. The other side also seems to have a problem and stabs of pain beset me every now and then when I get a seed or something stuck in my bottom tooth or when I don’t bit down in the right place.

Yesterday we got back from a lovely five days out in the bushveld, away from the stresses of every-day-life. That might contribute to my down feeling and maybe the fact that I wasn’t placed in the top 25 of a writing competition I entered adds too – but I think the tooth thing is the main contributor.

My faith wobbles like a jelly on a motorbike swinging from highs to lows depending on immediate circumstances and even the amount of sleep I had the night before. That is why I need to run to the Rock that is higher than I. I know that I can do nothing without Christ and the power of the Holy Spirit. I just have to rest in the assurance that God loves me as I am with my weaknesses and failures and He will provide all I need for life and godliness.

This post is part of Streams of Consciousness Saturday.

4 thoughts on “The Rock

How do you like your Coffee?