In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Pledge Allegiance.”

I grew up in the era of hymns and I am still moved and inspired by the old words.  One of my favourites and possibly the most challenging is “I Vow to You, my Saviour.”

It was written by Richard T Bewes after “I vow to Thee my Country” by Celcil Spring-Rice to the music from Thaxted (1921) from Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity  from The Planets (Op32) (1914-1916) by Gustav Holt

I am not often in a position where I can pray it honestly and sincerely. My dedication to my Lord fluctuates as I keep trying to take back control of my life which I have surrendered to Him. However, today’s prompt has reminded me where my allegiance must be.

5733164082_8a3f9d91c0

https://www.flickr.com/photos/waitingfortheword/

I vow to you, my Saviour, all earthly things above,

Entire, and whole and perfect, the service of my love.

The love that asks no questions, the love that stands the test,

That lays upon the alter the dearest and the best.

The love that never falters, the love that knows the price,

The love that stands indebted before your sacrifice………..

….So light the fire withing me, and let me fan the flame

and fill me with the Spirit, that I may bear your Name.

In season and in hardship, to run my given race.

O keep me ever-burning until I see your face.

I vow to you my Saviour, that where your feet have trod,

I’ll serve and always follow my Master and my God.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/i-pledge-allegiance/”>I Pledge Allegiance</a>

2 thoughts on “I vow to you…

  1. artisanfood.co.za

    Awesome!! My husband recently found the piece of music by Halt and was fascinated by it. Whilst he was playing it to me, I said, hey that is an old school hymn which we sang on special school days. Thanks for writing about the I vow to thee my Savior dimension, as I don’t recall finding that on our fact finding mission. 😀

    Like

    Reply
    1. Fuzzy Panda Barista Post author

      No, it is not all that well known. I tried to find a YouTube video of the hymn but I couldn’t. I did find it available on Amazon though – I will wait for my son to get home and explain the intricacies of downloading an MP3

      Like

      Reply

How do you like your Coffee?

