Lockdown Day 9 Deep

It has been raining all day and it’s an ideal day to settle down with my computer and write a blog.

This is part of Stream of Consciousness Saturday and the challenge for today is to use the word, deep.

Two things come to mind when I see this word. The first is a bible verse. I hope it’s not cheating to look up the whole quotation.

“Deep calls to deep at the roar of your waterfalls; all your waves and breakers have swept over me.”(Psalm 42:7)

I am not sure what it means. It seems like the psalmist is feeling overwhelmed. Sound familiar in these times? Nevertheless the phrase resonates with something deep within me and I almost feel its something like God’s Spirit calls to my spirit.

The second thing I think of is a song – How deep the Father’s love for us.

“How Deep The Father’s Love For Us”

How deep the Father’s love for us
How vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son
To make a wretch His treasure

How great the pain of searing loss
The Father turns His face away
As wounds which mar the Chosen One
Bring many sons to glory

Behold the man upon a cross
My sin upon His shoulders
Ashamed, I hear my mocking voice
Call out among the scoffers

It was my sin that held Him there
Until it was accomplished
His dying breath has brought me life
I know that it is finished

I will not boast in anything
No gifts, no power, no wisdom
But I will boast in Jesus Christ
His death and resurrection

Why should I gain from His reward?
I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart
His wounds have paid my ransom

Why should I gain from His reward?
I cannot give an answer
But this I know with all my heart
His wounds have paid my ransom (azlyrics.com/lyrics/selah/howdeepthefathersloveforus.html)

4 thoughts on “Lockdown Day 9 Deep

  1. Gattina

    I spent my days with reading blog posts, it’s so interesting to read how other countries in the world cope with the confinment. I would say unfortunately we have for once sunshine instead the usual rainy weather. Poor people who have not the chance to live in a golden cage.

    Like

    Reply
  2. JoAnna

    I don’t think it’s cheating to look up a verse or a song. “Deep calls to deep at the roar of your waterfalls; all your waves and breakers have swept over me.”(Psalm 42:7) could relate to something I wrote about surfing the waves or diving deep under them. The waves come and go, but God’s love is constant. On the other hand, God’s waves and breakers could be refreshing.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Fuzzy Panda Barista Post author

      Thanks Joanna. I never thought of the waves and breaker
      s being refreshing. What a lovely thought. I can just imagine a girl standing facing the sea waiting for the refreshing breaker to splash in her face.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

How do you like your Coffee?